Been there, done that

Hi world!

Never thought I would say this, but I’ve actually looked forward to writing on this blog again. You see, I haven’t had a stabile internet for four weeks (!!).
One of the few things I’ve picked up on during my holiday in Italy, is how far behind they are on everything with technology in it. All houses are equipped with wifi in Norway, and that houses have internet is something I expect, though something I also came to learn that I shouldn’t do. I think the way Italians (and many, many other countries, too. It’s actually scientifically proved that Norwegian teens are the ones with the most knowledge when it comes to technology, and therefore uses it a lot more. Norwegian teens are also test bunnies with new apps and stuff, if you were wondering) distance themselves from internet without knowing they do, learning to cope with situations and not rely on technology to fix it, is admirable. I could never do that. (America is also one of the countries that are further behind on the technology. Who would’ve guessed?) They should be happy they were never presented to the world of constantly being able to use the internet. They don’t have to cold-sweat, itch and feel empty when they can’t check Snapchat or Instagram every five seconds. When you’ve never experienced it, you don’t know what you’re missing out on.
Anyway, that wasn’t really what I wanted to share with you. I had an honest intention of telling you some of the things I’ve been up to in this foreign country I’ve come to like. And I think I’ll try just one more time.
DSC_0133
It took me forever to download that photo, but it’s so beautiful I’ll bear over with it.

One of the last days in this spaghetti-eating country, my mom and dad found it convenient that we should go visit a cave. I’m not the biggest fan of going on trips (museums, sights and stuff like that just doesn’t fall down in my circle of interest), but the cloudy weather persuaded me. I went with a sigh. We walked down the stairs with a thousand steps (yes, they told me it was a thousand steps, no, I didn’t count). We went into the cave which was beautiful and quite interesting, but despite that fact, I only remember two things the guide with the bad English told us: it was 50 thousand years old, and it was discovered by fishers.
DSC_0116
Now this is a picture of my dad and the steps.

So, if I look past all the children (Seriously, who brings their small children into a cave? 1: they won’t remember a thing anyway. 2: they don’t think it’s neither fun nor will they get anything positive out of it) walking everywhere they’re not wanted as well as crying 70% of the tour, the steps AND the fact that the sun came out during our tour, it was okay. Sweaty from the blistering sun burning in the sky on our way back up the stairs, we decided to go to the beach. I’ll write more about that later!
DSC_0138
The last picture from this cave in Italy.

I don’t remember what its name was. But it was pretty. It really was. At least we did something a little cultural, and that’s not too bad.
“Stay tuned”! Because I’m going to write more about this holiday (which is the last one I’ll have with my parents whom I’m so sick of I can’t even describe it. I mean, 3.5 weeks being with them 24/7 takes its toll). I assure you that you will want to see some more of it. It’s breathtakingly beautiful and I haven’t even told you half of it!
lovelove

Leave a Reply

