On Plastic Surgery and Changing our Looks

 We live in 2014 (newsflash!), and there are so few limits to what we can do. We can visit the moon, we can make food colorful and bigger than it originally was – and we can change the way we look if we want to and have the resources to do it. In this blogpost, I’ll write about my opinion around changing our looks with plastic surgery. I’m very much open for other point of views – I do have “leave a comment” there for a reason. Do it.

First of all, I have to get some things out in the clear. I don’t mind one bit if people wants to change their looks – if it helps the way they see themselves and their self-esteem, then why not? I’m a girl, and I also happen to be a teenager; it’s not like I don’t know how it is to have complexes and feel bad about elements that are a part of me. It’s not like I don’t find it tempting to change them, either. I’m not saying I can peek into people’s minds and feel what they feel when they decide to take the step, but I will go as far as saying that I have a pretty good idea of what’s going on inside their heads. 

In my head, it’s human nature to have complexes. It’s how we’re designed, how we’re built. It being 2014 doesn’t play a positive part in it either – the pressure being bigger than ever. I saw an article in a magazine for teens, also called “Cosmopolitan”, take a look:

photo

When Cosmopolitans labels this girl as a “plus-size model”, we can’t really help wanting to change our looks. If we use the recipe the society is putting out there when it comes to how we should look, I bet all the plastic surgery clinics will be full-booked and have work until they retire in ten seconds. How high bars should we have before we change our looks?

In danger of repeating myself a little, I’m standing by my earlier statement where I said that I don’t care whether people choses to change their looks. We all have complexes and some think the solution is removing them. I won’t see a person with different eyes if the person has done a nose job. Some people struggle extremely with their complexes and if visiting the surgeon makes them feel better about themselves, then good for them. I want people to live with themselves in a good way, and if that’s what it takes, then that’s what they should do.

Still, I can’t help but question it. I mean, it’s a human ability we’re all born with to feel self-cautios and insecure about some elements we withhold on our bodies. At the end of the day, I don’t think it’s about changing or not changing our looks. I think that even though you do decide to do plastic surgery, you will find something else about your body that bothers you. Something else you’ll feel insecure about. Whether it’s your eyebrows, your toes, eyes or your nose. Even the ones we see as the most beautiful ladies on this earth has complexes – it’s how it is, and that’s how it always will be. I think it’s about how you chose to let these complexes run your life, and how much you put into things that really aren’t a part of the broader and bigger picture. Truth is, you’ll get one of your bigger complexes to disappear, but you’ll still struggle with the ones remaining. That’s when you learn to cope and live with them in the best possible way.

If you have an opinion on the subject that you’d like to voice, feel free to do just that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

